Titchy Threads Twisted Trousers – with a hint of pink

There aren’t many pattern releases where I’m hovering over the ‘Buy’ button in anticipation. Titchy Threads’ Twisted Trousers were one. I was inspired by designer Laura’s pair here – I loved the bright colour and that twist around the legs (I actually thought at first that they were made from sweatshirt fabric; they’re not, but that has planted a seed for the next pair I make…) I’ve made several of her other patterns and can vouch for their clarity and detail, hence the itchy fingers when the new pattern was coming up for release.

2015-03-30 13.44.04I made Munchkin’s from an old pair of my own jeans and easily got a size 2 out of them (though they were quite flared jeans!). As you can see below, I saved the original pockets which saved some time. The instructions and illustrations are as clear as us Titchy-thread-philes are accustomed to, and they were a gratifyingly quick make – the first stages to make and attach the pockets are probably the longest bit. Since the jeans were going to be fairly sturdy on their own I didn’t line them or make them reversible (which is a brilliant option included in the instructions). I also took up the option to add piping to the twisted seams to really make them stand out, and finally put into practice an idea I’d had when I saw Handmade Boy’s series on Boys CAN wear pink. And I used some leftover Thomas the Tank Engine fabric for the pocket bags – I love giving Munchkin a secret surprise, and he does like pockets.

2015-03-30 13.44.14The fit, I have to say, needs a bit of tweaking, but this may well be due to the shape of my toddler πŸ™‚ He’s a fairly slim build and is currently just under 2 1/2. The jeans are quite baggy around his hips so I may try grading to 18months around the bottom and waist in my next pair (this is particularly noteworthy given that he wears cloth nappies, so usually I need to grade up around the rear. Heaven knows what will happen when we finally ditch the nappies altogether – I may need to invest in some braces πŸ™‚ ). But grading is very easy with TT patterns as they all have the option to print only the size layers you need.

The Twisted Trousers are definitely a winner, and a good option for a pair of jeans if you don’t want the extra time and details of the Skinny Fry jeans (which are also favourites here). I have some lovely bright corduroy lined up for another pair – plus that sweatshirt one of course πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

